The Terra Initiative

First, Happy New Year!  I hope that you have a very prosperous 2010 filled with love, laughter and success.  But something to keep in mind is that all of these things are within your grasp every single day…sometimes, all that is lacking is the will to reach out and take it.  Good luck and prosperous times are not something that happen to us, they are things that we make happen.  Go and make it happen for yourself in 2010.

In a similar vein, I have been toying around with this idea specifically for a few months now, and more generally for a few years, and I think that I think that the timing is finally right to pursue this idea.

The Terra Initiative

In 2010, I am going to be starting the Terra Initiative Scholarship Fund, a scholarship program aimed at aiding students who wish to go to college and study environmental sciences that will lead to greener technology, such as alternative fuels, renewable/sustainable energy, etc.

It will be a slow process, creating this project, and it will be small at first.  And it may never get to the point where it is able to give students a free ride.  But I really feel that if by offering some small amount to a deserving student, perhaps they will be that much more excited about pursuing the goal of building greener technology.  Perhaps that little amount will be just enough to help someone get the opportunity to actually go to college.

Greener technologies are going to happen.  Frankly, I feel that it will be the next big technology boom, much like computers were in the 80s, the internet in the 90s, and handheld technology was in the 00s (kinda weird saying that their over, huh?)

Call to Action

So I’m asking for your help.  I have a lot to learn about starting a nonprofit, and one of my goals today is to hit Barnes and Noble and start researching what I will need to do.  I will be setting up a website for the Terra Initiative soon, and I’m sure that there are several dozen other little things that will need to happen.  And it will be at least a year before any monies will be able to be dispersed or awarded.

But if you are interested in helping, in volunteering your time, your knowledge, your services, please contact me.  Or at least let me know your thoughts.

All the best in 2010.

1 comment so far

  1. andrewshipley on

    hey i really like your blog i would love it if you posted to this site http://www.climbersconnect.com they are all climbers so they would love it!
    thanks
    Andrew: site admin


Leave a Reply

